We are excited to once again have an amazing group of youth on our Youth City Council, otherwise known as the YCC. The YCC meets twice each month to discuss, plan, and implement a variety of activities to benefit the community. They also engage in fundraisers throughout the year to raise money for the Santa’s Workshop program. For this program, the YCC accepts donations and uses fundraising monies to purchase gifts for struggling families in our community during the Christmas season. The YCC hosted the annual Pumpkin Walk and Haunted Creek on October 27,and it was a big success. On Saturday, November 15, the YCC is hosting our first Cedar “Hill”billy Day at Heritage Park from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. There will be country-themed games, and the YCC will be accepting canned goods for donation to the local food bank. Please visit our website and social media sites often to keep updated on additional YCC events.

Below is the list of our current YCC members. You can learn more about each of them and read their great personal mottos, at cedarhills.org/youth-city-council 

Mayor: Kyle Schvaneveldt
Mayor Pro Tempore: Courtney Anderson
Service Committee: Kiera Gudmundson (chair), Madison Boone, Kaitlin Stufflebeam, Shelby Bergeson, Zach Ericksen, Zach Holley, Mandy Peck
Fundraising Committee: Matt Graf (chair), Brayden Beardall, Brayden Call, Bryce Baird, Clayton Mack Hansen, Hannah Hallsted, Hannah Murdock, Maddie Seegmiller
Publicity Committee: Nathan Bennett (chair), Adam Zappala, Annika Goodman, Emily Gustaveson, Haley Hallsted, Matthew Hovorka, Nate Osborne
Activities Committee: Sarah Lewis (chair), Abigail Phelon, Ariah Bleyl, Bethany Ericksen, Blake Oler, Joshua Balzen, Josh Erickson, Landon Call, Todd Paskett 

We want to thank the YCC and their advisors, Emily Cox and Nicole Allen, for all of the time and effort they put into their activities. They work hard to make Cedar Hills a fun place to live.

-Jenney Rees, City Council